Five Colleges of Ohio Presidents Advocate for Permanent Legislative Solution on Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals

Posted on February 7, 2018

In the face of a possible end to the protections from the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) executive order, the Five Colleges of Ohio Presidents advocate to Ohio’s senators for a permanent legislative solution to assure the continued inclusion of DACA students in our institutions.

September 5, 2017

The Honorable Sherrod Brown
United States Senate
713 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Brown,

For almost two centuries, Ohio liberal arts colleges have helped young people make a difference in our state and our nation, regardless of their country of origin.  Ohio and our institutions have been pioneers in extending educational opportunity for all, a reflection of America’s values of equality and enterprise.  We ask you now to stand with us to safeguard this path to higher education by maintaining the protections of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA).

DACA students – who have defied every obstacle in order to pursue education at our colleges and others around the state – are persistent, talented, and successful members of our academic communities.  They grew up in our country, excelled in its high schools, and now stand ready to contribute to our nation.  Cutting short their educations through threatened deportation denies them – and us – the promise of that future.

We urge you to uphold the provisions of DACA and take legislative action to move beyond executive order to a law ensuring its continuation.  A permanent path forward for these students, American in all but legal status, secures their education and the valuable role they play on our campuses today and in Ohio and the world tomorrow.

Liberal arts colleges are a uniquely American innovation, founded on the promise of open inquiry, critical discourse that looks beyond a single perspective, and a pursuit of knowledge that knows no color or border.   Keeping a seat in our classroom and a place in our nation’s communities for these talented young people is essential to these common values and to our common future.



Signature by Oberlin College President Carmen Ambar
Carmen Ambar, President
Oberlin College


Signature by College of Wooster President Sarah Bolton
Sarah Bolton, President
The College of Wooster


Signature by Kenyon College President Sean Decatur
Sean Decatur, President
Kenyon College


Signature by Ohio Wesleyan University President Rock Jones
Rock Jones, President
Ohio Wesleyan University


Signature by Denison University President Adam Weinberg
Adam Weinberg, President
Denison University